Uncle Panda Travel
中文
View as Markdown

On-site services, interpreters and assistants

13 min read · last checked 2026-10-22 · by the Uncle Panda team

On-site services at the fair, hiring an interpreter or assistant, the companion badge, and the touts to ignore.

At a glance

  • The fair offers interpretation, medical and shuttle services on its buyer portal, but exact Phase 2 and Phase 3 desk locations, rates and hours are not confirmed.
  • The official Phase 1 guide lists luggage storage, a meditation room, first aid and AEDs, bank and ATM, photocopy and business-card printing, post, and air and train ticket services. Whether these continue in Phase 2 and Phase 3 is not confirmed; ask at an information desk.
  • Bringing your own interpreter needs a companion badge: up to 1 assistant and 1 interpreter per buyer per phase, RMB 300 per day plus a RMB 50 card fee (a buyer-portal screenshot also shows RMB 200 for a replacement badge). The buyer applies online at least 2 calendar days ahead (the portal blocks earlier start dates). Interpreters must show CATTI, NAETI or a foreign-language degree.
  • The relationship must be genuine. Fake companion applications lead to both badges being confiscated, removal and blacklisting with no refund. Paying middlemen for "badge arranging" is high-risk.
  • Interpreter prices vary by a factor of ten. What Chinese exhibitors pay student booth interpreters (reported RMB 200-600 per day) is a different market from buyer-side escort or technical interpreting (agency quotes RMB 800-2,500 per day for English).
  • "Free translator" offers are a known tout tactic at metro exits, security lines, food courts and hotel lobbies.
  • Get it in writing: hours, overtime, badge cost, factory travel, meals, cancellation and deposit.

8.1 On-site services

Locations below come from the 140th Phase 1 guide, a 140th Area C service page reposted on Xiaohongshu and media reports. Use them as a starting point and confirm on the day. The reposted image does not state its phase, so all image-only service locations are not confirmed.

Registration and information

  • Overseas Buyer Registration Office at the Registration Hall between Area D and Area A, with a shuttle bus stop to it marked on the site map; another office on Area C 1F, by Halls 14.1 and 15.1.
  • Information desks (咨询服务), for example Area C 2F; a multilingual service centre was added this edition.
  • Volunteers: about 10,000 volunteer shifts at the venue, transport hubs, malls and sights, including French, Arabic and Spanish speakers; 3 volunteer stations outside the halls.
  • Immigration help: 12367 runs a 24/7 multilingual Canton Fair line and a booth inside the venue.
  • Fair app: booth-level indoor navigation, AI notes, the ASKME assistant, appointments and badge applications.
  • Badge collection hours: one report says 08:30-18:00 (not confirmed).

Luggage and lockers

AreaLocker locations reported
APearl River Promenade near Hall 2.1 escalators (Lockers C and D), Counters 5-6 (G), CCB Bank (H), Central Platform A entrance (I)
BNear Bank of China opposite Hall 9.2 (A, B, F); Hall 11.2 (E)
C1F opposite Kungfu Restaurant (J); luggage storage on 1F and 2F
DPearl River Promenade near Counter 20-1 (L) and Counter 19-1 (M)

Whether lockers continue in Phase 2 and Phase 3, prices and size limits are not confirmed. Buyers recommend a carry-on or wheeled case rather than a large suitcase.

Catalogues and samples: a third-party service offers to collect and hold heavy catalogues and business cards (by phone). It is commercial and not vetted. Your hotel bell desk can usually store samples (Chapter 5.7).

Medical

  • First aid points and AEDs are listed in the Phase 1 guide; Area C shows a first aid point on 1F and AEDs on every floor.
  • A new International Medical Services area sits in the Trade Services Zone. Reports differ on size: 19 medical institutions or about 30 providers. The "GZ Medigo" app offers multilingual consultations and appointments.

Business services

  • Photocopy and business-card printing (名片制作/文件复印点) on Area C 1F.
  • VIP Buyer Lounge on Area C 1F; a meeting reception area is also marked there.
  • Air and train ticket office on Area C 3F.
  • IP and trade dispute complaint station (CFCS) on Area C 4F.
  • Trade Services Zone: 10 categories including warehousing and shipping, design, overseas agency, cross-border finance, IP mediation and testing and certification.
  • Flight check-in in the venue: a Hall A counter (3-6) run with the Hong Kong Airport Authority and Cathay Pacific handles check-in, ferry tickets and enquiries; 8 airlines offer on-site check-in this edition.
  • Hotel business centres offer per-page contract printing, scanning, 1-hour binding and phone booths, open to 22:00.

Money and connectivity on site

ATM and bank on Area C 2F; cross-border payment help desks. Power-bank rental kiosks frequently run empty at peak, so bring your own. More in Chapter 7.

Getting around inside

Internal electric shuttle carts run along the Pearl River Promenade and the central flyover; a 3D layout image numbers 24 stops (1-10 Area A, 11-17 Area B, 18-24 Area D). Area B and Area C are linked by the elevated Central Flyover (中央天桥). One report says toilets are by hall entrances and lifts are under the connecting bridges.

8.2 Hiring an interpreter or assistant

Do you need one?

Many booths have English-speaking staff; buyers on Reddit say an interpreter matters most for screening suppliers and technical terms. The practical value of a good one: technical negotiation, real-time price comparison, negotiating MOQs and tooling costs, turning English specs into Chinese factory specs, and keeping daily supplier logs. If you need help at factories after the fair, say so up front: the strongest buyer requests we found were for factory transport plus bilingual help for an existing shortlist.

How the companion badge works

The portal details below come from screenshots of third-party posts, not a logged-in check of the official page. Screenshot-derived form fields, fees, refund and invoice rules are not confirmed.

RuleDetail
Types"Assistant" or "Interpreter/Translator"
NumberMax 1 assistant + 1 interpreter per buyer per phase
CostRMB 300 per day + RMB 50 card processing fee
Who appliesThe overseas buyer, online, on the official site
DeadlineAt least 2 full calendar days ahead (for example by Oct 13 for Oct 15 entry); no same-day processing
Interpreter credentialsCATTI, NAETI or a (mainland) foreign-language degree; assistants need none
What you submitCompanion's phone number, Chinese ID number and photo (sources describe a companion with a Chinese ID; if your assistant is foreign, confirm with the official desk); interpreters also a clear certificate scan
Who can sponsor an interpreterForeign-passport buyers only. Buyers with Chinese passports or HK, Macau or Taiwan permits can sponsor an assistant only
ApprovalOne report says preliminary approval came 1-2 days after the interpreter qualification was approved
Portal checks (screenshots, Oct 19)Start date cannot be earlier than 2 days ahead; companion ID and mobile cannot be changed after submission; non-visa-exempt buyers upload the visa first page; the companion confirms through an SMS from 106980008999
PickupBuyer and companion go to the counter together; buyer brings the original passport, companion the original Chinese ID (from note text, to verify)
Refund and invoice (portal screenshot)Refund by online request before Dec 4, 2026, only if the badge has no venue entry record; request the invoice within 30 days of paying
Lost badgeRMB 200 per replacement (portal screenshot)
Genuine relationshipFake applications: both badges confiscated, removal, blacklisting, no refund

For Phase 2: apply by Wed Oct 21 to enter on Fri Oct 23. For Phase 3: apply by Thu Oct 29 for Sat Oct 31.

Badge cost on a 5-day phase: at RMB 300 per day plus RMB 50, five days of badge fees come to RMB 1,550, separate from the interpreter's own fee. A portal screenshot shows a Phase 2 application for Oct 23-27 on the fee screen and asks you to reconfirm the number of entry days before paying, which suggests you pay for the days you apply for; unused (never scanned) badges are refundable only on request.

Interpreter cancellations happen on the other side too. A Phase 1 interpreter post (Oct 17) describes an agency cancelling 6 booked Spanish interpreters at 01:30 on opening day and later paying USD 100 each; the post says the same agency was recruiting for Phase 2 and 3 and that interpreters were moved between booths and buyers. One report, but it is why you should name the person, the days and the cancellation terms in writing.

What interpreters expect: freelance interpreters often ask the client to supply the entry credential; a recruiter says Phase 2 and 3 interpreters must already have their own badges; booth jobs have the exhibitor arrange badges.

Reported rates

All figures are reported or advertised, not official, unless stated. RMB per day unless noted.

A. What exhibitors pay booth interpreters (the student and part-time market)

Reported rateContextDate
300-400; Phase 2 ad at 400 with meals, no lodging"Rates dropped this year" (Zhengzhou interpreter)Oct 2
200-300Booth budgets after Phase 1Oct 20
200Interpreter ad, client supplies badgeOct 15
400 with 20% information feePhase 2 Oct 23-27 offerOct 15
400 quoted vs 300 found on siteInterpreter's own quoteSep 8
350 for 12 hoursOne reportOct 16
600 incl. lunch; ad totals 6 days as 3,600 (Phase 3 runs 5 days Oct 31-Nov 4, confirm billable days)Phase 3 English booth job, badge providedOct 19
400-600 (CET students); up to 3,000Part-time group claimOct 12
400 incl. lunch, 09:00-18:00Spring 2026 Phase 2 ceramics exhibitorsMar 16
350 incl. lunch; 4,800-5,200 for three phasesSpring 2026 agency wageMar
50-60 per hourBooth part-timerMar 31

11 datapoints, range RMB 200-600 per day for ordinary booth work. These are what exhibitors pay, not buyer-facing escort prices.

B. Buyer-side interpreting, escort and technical

Reported rateContext
600 booth / 800 escort (English); 800 / 1,000 (Arabic, Russian, Spanish, French); under 4 h = half dayIndexed text on the official cantonfair.org.cn domain; date unknown; live page not confirmed
600-1,200 + meals, lodging and transport reimbursedInterpreter ad for Phase 3, Oct 19
at least 500-600Interpreter's view of a fair rate, Oct 16
1,200+Experienced CATTI Level-2 interpreters (one report), Sep 8
1,500Foreign clients paying for English (one report), Oct 20
English 400-800; other languages 600-1,000; international platforms USD 180-230 per 8 hWeb market summary, Aug 11
English 800-1,200 junior / 1,800-2,500 technical; Arabic, Russian, Spanish, French 1,500-2,000 / 2,200-2,800; Turkish 1,800-2,200 / 2,500-3,200 (8 h)Sourcing agency, 2025 rates republished 2026
USD 200 per 8 h; USD 120 per 4 h; USD 180 per day for 3+ daysSourcing-agent quote, fair and factory
USD 99 half day / USD 149 day (assistant; transport and pass excluded); USD 249-349 per day sourcing partner; USD 649 for 3 fair daysAgency, 140th edition
USD 150 per day + USD 10 per meal (English assistant or guide)Package add-on, 140th edition
300 (local market guide or assistant, uses a translation app)Marketing post, Oct 13

A Reddit comment claiming RMB 600 booth / 800 escort as "official English rates" and RMB 600-700 freelance is unverified and marketing-adjacent. Hindi and Urdu rates were not found.

Reading these numbers. For general English help at the fair, the evidence clusters around RMB 400-800 per day from freelancers and USD 149-200 per day from agencies; technical, rare-language or factory work costs more. Add the RMB 300 per day badge if the interpreter does not have one.

What to ask before you hire

  1. Badge: Who applies, who pays the RMB 300 per day + RMB 50, and is it already approved?
  2. Hours and overtime: What counts as a day (8 h? 09:00-18:00?) and what is the overtime rate? Is under 4 hours a half day?
  3. Factory travel: Does the day rate include Guangzhou-Foshan transport and lunch? Who pays the car, tolls and the interpreter's meals and lodging?
  4. Language and industry: Have they worked your product category? One Phase 3 factory brief demanded Mexican Spanish and manufacturing terms. Good interpreters study the product sheet first and check uncertain questions.
  5. Credentials: CATTI or NAETI or a degree, needed for the interpreter badge anyway.
  6. Deposit and cancellation: Agree in writing; interpreters commonly ask for a deposit against mid-job cancellation. Ask what happens if you cancel or cut days.
  7. Lead time: Providers ask for at least 2 days' notice, the same as the badge rule.
  8. Who they work for: Are they also paid by suppliers? (See 8.3.)

What a fair quote should itemise

Buyers on Facebook asked providers for: inclusions and exclusions, hidden charges, payment terms, cancellation policy, first-time-buyer experience, years in business and references, plus hourly and day rates, overtime and factory-meeting translation. Reddit buyers asked for hours, overtime, badge, technical terms and factory travel to be quoted separately. A clean quote therefore lists, line by line:

  • Interpreter fee per day (define hours) and half-day rate
  • Overtime per hour
  • Companion badge: RMB 300 per day + RMB 50, and who pays
  • Meals, transport, and lodging if outside Guangzhou
  • Vehicle and driver for factory days, priced separately (car, fuel, tolls, parking, waiting)
  • Deposit, payment method and cancellation terms
  • Deliverables: daily supplier log or notes

Licensing note: under the Tourism Law, charging to book hotels or tickets, arrange vehicles or run day tours is travel-agency business, and unlicensed operators face fines of RMB 10,000-100,000. A licensed charter should hold a road transport permit, vehicle operating licence, a properly licensed driver and carrier liability insurance. Interpreting alone is a different service; bundled "interpreter + car + hotel" offers fall into the agency category.

8.3 Scams and quality problems

  • "Free translator" touts. Unauthorised sales reps intercept buyers at security checkpoints, food areas, smoking zones, metro exits and the Westin and Shangri-La lobbies offering free translation to collect contacts. "Free guides" may steer you to unlicensed workshops or brokers on kickbacks.
  • Brokers posing as your interpreter. Unregistered suppliers enter the halls as "translators" or "purchasing assistants" for buyers and try to divert them.
  • Badge sellers. A video claims many people pay intermediaries about RMB 1,000 one-off for a companion badge, since exhibitor routes need social-insurance proof. One commenter offers "assistant sponsorship" for 700 and "translator sponsorship" for 300 on set dates (currency not stated in the source). This conflicts with the genuine-relationship rule; borrowing or renting badges can lead to a blacklist, and the fair has never authorised third parties to process badges.
  • Contact harvesting after closing. People at exits hand out cards and collect foreigners' contacts, often hired promoters chasing quotas; on teardown night, discarded inquiry forms and cards are collected from bins. Shred or take your quotes.
  • Payment-detail fraud after the fair. If a supplier emails "our bank details have changed", verify by phone or the original chat before paying.
  • Unverified logistics agents. One author alleges an Area B logistics intermediary misrepresented its courier affiliation and overcharged without an itemised bill (one-sided allegation).
  • Interpreter disputes. Commenters recommend a written agreement and deposit before work. Unofficial agencies reportedly reshuffle interpreters across booths and buyers, breaking continuity in price talks. Interpreters themselves are warned not to send ID-bearing CVs to unknown recruiters, so expect a careful freelancer to share credentials in redacted form.
  • Facebook reality check. Under a Phase 3 guide request, most of 22 replies were "Available DM" pitches without prices, credentials or terms.

Do / Don't

Do

  • Apply for the companion badge at least 2 full days before entry.
  • Brief your interpreter with product sheets the day before.
  • Separate interpreter, car and tour costs in any quote.
  • Use the Area C business services and the Hong Kong airline counter in Hall A where you need them.
  • Ask your interpreter provider to name the person for each day; avoid substitutions mid-negotiation.

Don't

  • Don't sponsor a companion you don't actually work with.
  • Don't accept "free translator" offers from strangers.
  • Don't pay anyone to "arrange" a badge.
  • Don't rely on in-hall power-bank rental.

Still to confirm

IssueWhat sources sayWhat to check
Official interpreter service ratesRMB 600/800 English on indexed official-domain text, date unknown; portal lists the service without ratesFair interpretation desk on site
Medical area size19 institutions vs about 30 providersTrade Services Zone signage
Badge fee basisRMB 300 per day + 50; a portal screenshot points to payment for the days applied for, with refunds only for never-used badgesPartly resolved by screenshot; confirm on the official page
Service locations for Phase 2 and Phase 3Phase 1 guide only; Area C page phase not statedInfo desk
Cancellation compensationUSD 100 per interpreter in one Phase 1 dispute; no general standardWrite your own terms
Locker prices and size limitsNot foundOn site
Agency vs freelance pricesRMB 200-600 exhibitor-side vs USD 149-200 buyer-sideDifferent markets; compare scope, not just price
UnknownInterpreter booking desk location; lost-property contact; Hindi and Urdu ratesNot confirmed

Official sources

Uncle Panda Travel is a licensed China travel agency, not the fair organiser. Rules, hours and prices can change; check the official fair channels before you travel.

Ask the fair assistant

Instant answers from our guide, free. It answers questions only and says so when it does not know.

More from this guide

1The 140th Canton Fair at a glance: Phase 2, Phase 3 and the gap daysPhase 2 (Oct 23-27) and Phase 3 (Oct 31-Nov 4): which products are in which Area, opening hours, and what is still not confirmed.14 min read · checked 2026-10-222Badge, entry and securityHow to get the free overseas buyer badge, where to collect it, companion badges for assistants and interpreters, and what the entry gates check.16 min read · checked 2026-10-223Getting there: airport, rail, Hong Kong and the last mile to PazhouGetting to Pazhou from Baiyun Airport, Guangzhou South, Hong Kong and Shenzhen, which metro exit to use for each Area, and taxi and DiDi tips.17 min read · checked 2026-10-224Around the complex: moving between halls, crowds and day planningHow the four Areas connect, when the crowds peak, where to rest and eat, and how to plan a day at the complex.13 min read · checked 2026-10-225Where to stay: areas, prices, rules and booking tacticsWhich neighbourhoods to stay in, what hotels charged during the fair, hotel shuttles, police registration and how to book.15 min read · checked 2026-10-226Food at the fair: halal, vegetarian and South Asian optionsFood courts in each Area, halal-marked outlets, vegetarian and South Asian options nearby, and the rule on delivered food.13 min read · checked 2026-10-227Money, phone, apps, visa and entryPaying with foreign cards and wallet apps, cash and exchange, SIM and eSIM, useful apps, and visa and entry checks.12 min read · checked 2026-10-228Sourcing at and after the fair, samples and shipping, scams and red flagsShortlisting suppliers, following up after the fair, samples and shipping, and the red flags of common scams.16 min read · checked 2026-10-229Factory visits by cluster and Guangzhou wholesale marketsFactory clusters you can reach from Guangzhou, how to arrange a visit, and the main wholesale markets.15 min read · checked 2026-10-2210Gap days (Oct 28-30) and after the fairWhat to do on Oct 28-30 while the halls are closed, day trips from Pazhou, and onward travel after the fair.13 min read · checked 2026-10-2211Ready-to-use itineraries for Phase 2 and Phase 3Ready-made day-by-day plans for Phase 2 and Phase 3 buyers, including the gap days.12 min read · checked 2026-10-2212What the maps, signs and portal screenshots showGates, metro exits and signs by Area, halal-marked outlets and hotel shuttles, as shown on maps and screenshots shared online.13 min read · checked 2026-10-22

Private trips around the fair

Add a few days of travel before or after 2026 Autumn Canton Fair (140th): a private car, a driver-guide and a written plan.

Need a person for your fair trip?

For quick facts, the AI assistant is fastest. For your own plans (hotel, transport, travel before or after the fair), message a travel designer.